what could possibly happen next?

2004-08-30

Bad beat story #1 (of many, I'm sure)

Grrrr. Just got knocked out of a HUGE poker tourney I had qualified for. I got 3 jacks on the flop, he had a pair of tens and he beat me with a straight. Lucky son of a bitch. 1st place was $29,000 so I am just a little bit bummed about being knocked out. I'll live. It's one of those things though, like when you buy a lottery ticket. You just start to dream about what you could do with that money. The nice thing was that at least I qualified. I had to finish in the top 23 of a 400+ tournament. I finished 18th against some real stellare competition. Seriously. My poker game seems like it is really starting to come around. I've been finishing high in tournaments. Been winning at the poker room on a somewhat consistent basis. I think all totaled I won about $5,000 this month after losses and everything. Not a bad month for part time playing. I know that this is boring but I really have nothing going on right now. I did go to an AA meeting this afternoon after work. Yes, I'm still clean. I was telling Anna (thank god, she's back from Yellowstone) that I feel good this time. I have no reservations, such as Alabama, or the band, or anything. I just want to stay clean. Which is the first time I have felt like that in a couple of years. Things are falling into place. I'm accepting things the way they are and not trying to force them into the way I want them to be. I love this meeting that I go to today because one of my friends has this beautiful little girl. About a month younger than My Man James, and she lets me hold her. It feels good.