what could possibly happen next?

2004-08-06

drunk and frustrated

OK, here's my rant. This is bub. Where in the hell do we fit in? I'm tired of playing with funk bands and bluegrass bands. And rockabilly bands. And punk and indie bands. Seems like we are too punk rock for the country, bluegrass, and funk bands. We are too mellow for the Punk, Rockabilly crowds. Hmmnm, I guess we could sound like everybody else. I could write songs that don't mean shit. I could write really hardcore riffs that everyone would ooooh and ahhhh about. Look, I'm too old to slamdance and too young to pick up a fiddle. I know that we have good songs. We just need to find our niche. Wether we can find it in San Diego or not is debatable. Oh yes, this is drunk typing so please excuse me if I'm not making any sense. I would just love for one time to open for a band like Uncle Tupelo or Whiskeytown. We would fit right in. But trying to play to laid back San Diegans (or conversely, really "scene" people) is really starting to frustrate me. Maybe I just suck and everyone is scared to tell me. Or nice. But I don't think so. What it comes down to is we are a rock band with country and punk influences. But we aren't cow-punk. We are raw. We are dangerous. We make you have to feel things that you normally don't want to feel. Too godamned bad. Stop putting your fucking head between your legs. Let music move you. Sad, angry, weird, whatever it is, let it take you the place that most of us are too scared to go. Dark nights, back alleys, dive bars, broken hearts, regret, drugs, whores, blackouts, lost opportunities, sorrow, pain, this is what makes us stand out and makes other turn away. Maybe one day you will let your guard down long enough to let us in.