what could possibly happen next?

2005-02-16

Hey Jude, do as I say, not as I do

Listening to Hey Jude. What a great song. A great vocal. Great advice, that song. Take a sad song and make it better. He doesn't really tell us how to do that. See, it's always real heavyhanded for musicians (myself included)to tell YOU what to do. Not that we can actually do it ourselves. From what I've read John Lennon was a big asshole. He had some great ideas though. Excellent song writer. The Beatles were big speed freaks. Womanizers. Drug addicts. Violent too. Yet, it's funny how we revere them now. I know I do. Nobody's perfect. Thank God for being able to write a tune and being able to sing. Otherwise, we would have stoned them outside the city gates.

I know that I'm glad that I get absolved of a lot of my bullshit because I'm an artist. I always think that's funny. If I was a construction worker or a dishwasher who would put up with me. NO one, that's who. Even with my artist title people have a hard time putting up with my bullshit. I better start making my ass artistic again. Not Autistic, which is probably what I must appear to people lately. I've been playing my guitar again. Oooh, there's California Stars. It's a Woodie Guthrie song. The version I'm listening to is by Wilco w/ Billy Bragg. The song gives me wanderlust. Makes me remember how big a world it really is. Lots of unexplored territory. Here's the lyrics.

California Stars

I�d like to rest my heavy head tonight
On a bed of california stars
I�d like to lay my weary bones tonight
On a bed of california stars

I�d love to feel your hand touching mine
And tell me why I must keep working on
Yes, I�d give my life to lay my head tonight
On a bed of california stars

I�d like to dream my troubles all away
On a bed of california stars
Jump up from my starbed and make another day
Underneath my california stars

They hang like grapes on vines that shine
And warm the lovers glass lke friendly wine
So, I�d give this world
Just to dream a dream with you
On our bed of california stars

Words: woody guthrie

Nice huh? Ok, I'm tired and way too clean and sober today. Have a great night!