what could possibly happen next?

2005-09-25

4 0!

Late at night here in San Diego. One thing that I need to do to make it easier for me to write in here is to remember that I'm writing for me. When I start thinking about who's reading it screws me up.

I turned 40 yesterday. Yeah, the big 4-oh. I've been trying not to think about it. It's an age where you just think youth has passed. What do I have to show for it? 5 kids, a few busted hearts and broken teeth. I've been tired. Physically tired, which isn't normal for me. How about more tired than I normally am. I'm looking at my hands as I type. Your hands hold a lot of history. Scars. My hands don't look old to me but they probably are old looking. What in the world do I want out of life? It's kind of a drag asking myself this question right now. I have no more of a clue now than I did when I was 8, 18, 21, or 30.