what could possibly happen next?

2004-05-20

-

Went to Hollywood last night to see Ron's band play. They tore shit up. It was a great show and we saw a real good band that opened for them too. Kind of Oasis-y like with some Squeeze thrown on the side for good measure. The Colonel and Nephew Scott came with. The weird part? No one was drinking, well Scott was but that was later on in the night and I didn't notice. The Colonel is not drinking for a month so that he can lose weight. WHAT? Who in the fucking world stops drinking so they can lose weight? I didn't punch him or anything but it sure made me feel like having a drink. Somebody's got to keep up the Ohmmer's rep as a hard drinking band! I didn't though. Got back into San Diego about 2:30 in the morning and crashed on Cowboy's couch. There was some good driving music going on during the trip up and back. Ryan Adam's RocknRoll; Paul Westerberg's new album which is just fucking unbelievable, Old Soul Asylum album, and then the pieste de resistance, Jesse Malin's "The Fine Art of Self Destruction." Awesome CD. If you don't know who he is, check him out. Many thanks to the beautiful AND intelligent #1 for turning me on to him. Woke up late and got to work around 9:00 a.m. Walked right into a nightmare. Gene's (my boss and the guy I live with) father passed away this morning. About 15 minutes after I got to work. When Gene leaves I am in charge. I'm not that much into being in charge of 10 fucked up, egomaniacal salesmen. Thank god they didn't trip on me cause I definitely wasn't in the mood. They showed a modicum of restraint. I'm sure that will be different tomorrow. All hell will probably break loose. Gene's wife is also the person that verifies our orders which is kindof the life blood of how we get paid. So I will be doing that also tomorrow. Hopefully Randy will show up at noon tomorrow and get me off the hook with these dudes. Went and played poker after work so that these guys (gene and his family) could have some time to themselves. Got my ass handed to me. I stayed an hour too long. Took a $100 dollar hit to the old bankroll. Oh well. Got home and everything was pretty quiet over here. I feel bad for Gene. It's such a fucked up feeling when one of your parents pass away. Like nothig else I've ever experienced. If you believe in that kind of thing say a prayer for him and his family, will ya? I am.