what could possibly happen next?

2004-09-21

Going Steady

I asked her to go steady last night. That's right! Go steady! That's the way we do it back where I'm from. (You know, late '70s 7th grade.) I said to her, "Jess, if I were in 7th grade and you were in... How old are you? Hmmm, ok that would mean you would be in 1st grade, OK. That's not going to work." "Ok, let's pretend that we are in the same grade..." She is giggling. She thinks I'm funny or just plain weird but she likes it. I am compelled to kiss her. I do. Just a nice sweet little kiss. Not a heavy tongue-laden one. "OK, let's pretend we are the same age and in 7th grade. If I liked you then the way that I like you now, I would...faint. No, I wouldn't faint." More giggles. Another kiss. She was getting ready to go home. About 11:30 at night. I didn't want her to leave. We were standing next to her truck. She was leaning against it. I was leaning against her. "If I liked you as much then as I like you now I would have....asked you if you want to go steady. So I'm askin' ya, Do you (long pause, deep breath in, exhale out) want to go steady with me?" She didn't say anything. Another long pause. She's looking me square in the eye. I'm looking square in her eye. OK, eyes, we didn't have one closed and we weren't wearing pirate patches. She said, "I thought you would never ask. Yes!" Long tongue-laden kiss. Big smiles on both of our faces. Jessie is my girlfriend. Hah!